Ken & Leah – Lifetime Adoption

Our Profile

Ken & Leah

Back to search

Watch Our Video
State We Live in: North Carolina
Our Religion: Christian
Stay At Home Parent: No
Our Age Preferences: Newborn-3 Months, 3 Months – 12 Months, 1 and 2 Years
Our Gender Preferences: Either Gender
Our Race Preferences: Any Race, African American, African American/Hispanic, Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, East Indian, Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American
Sibling Group: Yes
With oldest up to 2 years old
Open to Twins: Yes

Learn More About Us

We're Open To Visits!
Call or text Lifetime Adoption at 1-800-923-6784.

Watch Our Video

Hello from North Carolina! Our family of four is so excited to grow through adoption, again! We are thrilled that you are interested in learning more about us. We would be so excited to share our lives with your child. We are a joyful family that aims to love God and love others! We enjoy spending time as a family traveling, enjoying the outdoors, and hanging out with our extended family. We will raise your child in a loving, stable, and happy home that supports them in all that they do and encourage them to follow their dreams. We would be honored and humbled to be the adoptive parents of your child and look forward to meeting you. We are open to pictures, letters, and planned visits as your child grows, to the extent you are comfortable with.

About Us

We have been married just over 10 years and we are still each other's favorite person! Our love story began in a college Bible class, but it wasn't until Ken transferred schools that we started dating, often commuting on the Mega bus to spend weekends together. Our bond has only grown stronger as we've shared countless adventures, from board games and kayaking to hiking and exploring new places. But our favorite moments are the simple ones—gathered around the firepit in our backyard, enjoying each other's company.

As a couple, we've always dreamed of having a big family life.  Our oldest, biological, daughter joined our family in 2016. After multiple miscarriages, we felt called to pursue adoption. Adoption isn't just a choice for us, it's a part of our family and a part of who we are. Leah has adopted siblings and an extended family member that were adopted. In 2020, we were blessed with the adoption of our youngest daughter. With lots of love in our hearts, we're eager to open our home and share that love with the children who join our family.

About Leah

For 10 years, I have been an elementary teacher. However, this past year I began a new career journey that gives me the freedom and flexibility to pursue my passions while being more available for our children. This shift has been incredibly rewarding; I now work remotely, relishing the opportunity to spend my days writing in local coffee shops, volunteering in our community, and being actively engaged in our children's education.

Outside of work, you will most likely find me playing the piano, reading a good book, or at the beach searching for shells and building sandcastles with our kids! I enjoy being active, but also enjoy being home. I look forward to Friday Family Movie nights each week, where we all eat pizza and ice cream, watch a movie together, and unwind from the week.

I look forward to bringing our next child on all our adventures, whether to visit another country, learning to swim, teaching them how to play the piano, or cheering them on in their extracurricular activities. There is no doubt that I will be their #1 fan!

About Ken

I have also been an educator for the past 10 years, specializing in science and cultivating a deep passion for renewable energy. Recently, I stepped out of the traditional classroom and took on a new role, where I mentor and guide a group of young men, all while helping homeowners and businesses embrace cleaner energy solutions. It's a different kind of teaching, but just as rewarding!

Outside of work, you'll often catch me outdoors, engaged in a variety of activities like soccer, tennis, kayaking, or exploring new hiking trails. I'm an active member of F3 (faith, fellowship, and fitness) in our hometown, where I cherish the bonds I've formed with other men. But what truly brings me joy is creating lasting memories with our family through our numerous adventures together, whether it's a thrilling outdoor excursion or a simple moment making dinner together.

I am looking forward to enjoying life with our next child -reading books, taking walks, swimming, and just watching them grow. I can't wait to see what they are passionate about and help them pursue and chase after their dreams.

About Our Girls

Raya is 7 and may be initially reserved, but once she warms up, her playful and goofy side shines through, bringing laughter and joy wherever she goes. Her kindhearted nature extends to her deep care for both people and animals, especially our two dogs. Raya's interests include gymnastics, piano, swimming, reading, art, and scooter rides around our neighborhood.

5-year-old Amya is a social butterfly and makes friends effortlessly wherever she goes. She has boundless energy and is very imaginative and creative. Amya enjoys gymnastics, soccer, and swimming, although exploring the playground and meeting new friends are among her favorite pastimes, closely followed by riding her bike around our neighborhood.

Despite their differences, Raya and Amya share an unbreakable bond and are best friends. Their sisterly camaraderie is evident in their shared adventures, whether bouncing on the trampoline, concocting imaginative recipes in the mud kitchen, playing with stuffed animals, or constructing structures with magna tiles in their bedroom.

Our Home in North Carolina

We live in a 3-bedroom home near a pool, playground, beach, and have a big backyard with plenty of outdoor space for exploring. Our kids' current favorite room in our house is our "bonus room" which we have transformed into a fun art space! It is not uncommon to hear lots of music, laughing, singing, and storytelling going on in our home. We live in a vibrant, diverse community that isn't too big and isn't too small. We have many parks, museums, and restaurants around. One of our favorite outings is heading downtown for dinner and ice cream on the riverwalk.

We have 2 dogs in our home that bring us a lot of joy. Zola is a 3-year-old Golden Retriever who thinks everyone is her best friend. She is playful and cuddly. Rainbow Sparkle, affectionally known as Bo Bo, is a 2-year-old Havanese. She is also very playful and enjoys being with us ALL the time. Every time we return home, she acts like she hasn't seen us in years! Both dogs are great with kids and would happily welcome another friend!

Our Promise

We promise that your child will be cherished and loved unconditionally in our home, with your role as their birth parent always respected and honored. We are committed to maintaining an open line of communication, whether through letters, pictures, or planned visits, ensuring you are comfortable with the level of contact.

Our family is deeply rooted in faith, and we promise to provide your child with a nurturing, Christ-centered upbringing. Surrounded by our loving family and friends, they will be enveloped in a supportive community that values compassion, kindness, and empathy.

Your child will be surrounded by endless opportunities for trying new things, going on adventures, and chasing after their dreams. We are dedicated to nurturing their interests and passions, empowering them to explore and discover the world around them.

Above all, your child will always be reminded of the love and value they bring into our lives. We are grateful for the opportunity to share our journey with you and eagerly anticipate the chance to learn more about you and your hopes for your child's future. Thank you for considering us as potential parents. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming your child into our hearts and home.

We’d love to talk or answer any of your questions. Please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

More About Ken

Education: Master's degree
Profession: I lead a team in large scale commercial solar installations.
Stay-At-Home: No
Racial Background: Caucasian

His Favorites:

Outdoor Activity : Playing Soccer
Food : Steak and Potatoes
Color : Blue
Movie: The Lord of the Rings
Hobby: Camping and Hiking
Dessert: Key Lime Pie
Vacation Spot : The Mountains

More About Leah

Education: Master's degree
Profession: I work for a non profit organization writing and developing social emotional learning curriculum.
Stay-At-Home: No, but I work from home!
Racial Background: African American and Caucasian

Her Favorites:

Outdoor Activity : Hanging out at the beach
Food : Tacos
Color : Green
Movie: Remember the Titans
Hobby: Traveling to new places
Dessert: Ice cream-even better if there is lots of stuff mixed in!
Vacation Spot : Mexico

More About Our Family

Our Special Interests

Our special interests include having new experiences. Previously, we have lived in four different states (Colorado, Ohio, Tennessee, and North Carolina) and one other country (Kenya). We love to see new places and meet new people from all backgrounds and walks of life. Leah has traveled to Mexico and Germany. Ken has traveled to China, Greece, Cyprus, and Mexico. Throughout these travels, we have learned to respect these cultures and enjoy their food and even learn some of the language and their way of life. We have chosen to settle down for now, but these relationships and memories will continue to be a part of the rest of our lives.

Our Faith

We are Christians who have not come to this decision lightly. Through our own self-examination of the Bible, we have come to believe that there is a God who is working together a beautiful story of redemption for His creation. This can be difficult to keep sight of with all the brokenness that is in our world. We have tasted a fair share of brokenness and pain in our own personal lives; therefore, our faith is in Jesus one day making all things right. Until then, we try our best to join Him in His redemptive work throughout our day to day lives.

Our Musical Interest

If you walked into our home, you would find a wide variety of music being played on Alexa. To name a few: Gospel, Pop, Instrumental, Motown, Kidzbop Kids, and different movie soundtracks. Additionally, Leah plays the piano, and Ken plays the guitar. We enjoy having impromptu jam sessions and are excited to teach our kids to play an instrument as well!

Our Extended Family

We both cherish the strong bonds we share with our families, finding comfort and joy in close-knit relationships. Grandma, Grammy, and Pop Pop in particular, play an active role in our lives, frequently visiting and making video calls, and showering us with love and surprises through the mail. We also enjoy spending time with cousins, who are just a short car ride away. Whether it's impromptu gatherings or planned get-togethers, these moments with extended family are cherished, fostering a sense of connection and belonging that enriches our lives. Our families have been a steady anchor through life's highs and lows, providing support and a sense of stability. The grandparents, aunties, uncles, and cousins, eagerly await the opportunity to dote and spoil another addition to our family with affection.

In Closing

Thank you for taking the time to get to know our family. Your child will be well loved and well cared for in our home. We are excited about the opportunity to share our passions and our culture with your child, while also taking special care to learn about and embrace their own unique culture. We can't wait to build a meaningful connection with you as we embark on this incredible journey together!